2013 Design Is… Award Market Winners Announced

CARTERSVILLE, Ga. – May 28, 2013 – In its eighth year, the Shaw Contract Group Design Is… Award program honors architecture and design firms that are changing the very idea of what design is. This year, Shaw Contract Group introduced Market Awards, representing the highest caliber of work within an industry segment and/or geographic region. An esteemed group of design professionals selected 48 winners out of more than 350 entries submitted from 26 countries.

Winning firms will be recognized in our annual NeoCon magazine and featured on our website. Additionally, winners will be a part of People’s Choice voting, in which fans will vote on their favorite projects and choose a winner. Shaw Contract Group will also promote the winners through promotional and marketing materials.

Winning projects include:

Education Winners

Henry Ford Community College Enrollment and Welcome Center
Dearborn, MI

SHW Group

The Centennial Project – Lau Family Wing at Crescent School
Toronto, Canada

CS&P Architects

Putnam Hall
Ypsilanti, MI

Eastern Michigan University – Facilities, Planning & Construction

The Barrie School: Learning Studio & Research Lab
Silver Spring, MD

Hord Coplan Macht

Macalester College, Janet Wallace Fine Arts Center
St. Paul, MN

HGA Architects and Engineers

Douglas Park Elementary School
Regina, SK, Canada

Number TEN Architectural Group

Western Michigan University Sangren Hall
Kalamazoo, MI

SHW Group

D49 Falcon Virtual Academy
Colorado Springs, CO

DLR Group

Government Winners

State Government of Victoria Office Fitout
Melbourne, Australia


Natural History Museum of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT

GSBS Architects

Rosa F. Keller Library & Community Center
New Orleans, LA


NNSA National Security Campus
Kansas City, MO

HNTB Architecture

TX Contemporary Art Fair VIP Lounge
Houston, TX

MaRS – Mayfield and Ragni Studio

Healthcare Winners

Pocono Medical Center, Dale & Frances Hughes Cancer Center
East Stroudsburg, PA


Good Samaritan Radiology Department
West Islip, NY


Bellevue Medical Center
Bellevue, NE

HDR Architecture

Hospitality Winners

The Surfcomber Hotel
Miami Beach, FL

Powerstrip Studio

Le Salon Croissanterie et Restaurant
Hong Kong, China

4N Architects

Vancouver Harbour Flight Centre Terminal
Vancouver, Canada

MCM Interiors Ltd.

Twenty Five Lusk
San Francisco, CA

CCS Architecture

Large Office Winners

Fitness International, LLC
Irvine, CA


Laboritorios Pfizer
Bogota, Colombia

Arquitectura e Interiores

Fender Musical Instruments Corporation
Scottsdale, AZ

Ware Malcomb

AECOM Hong Kong Office
Hong Kong, China


Cannon Design Chicago Office
Chicago, IL

Cannon Design

The Clorox Company
Pleasanton, CA

Cannon Design

Bedrijfsverzamelgebouw Regionaal Archief Rivierenland en Stichting Christelijke Woningcorporatie
Tiel, Gelderland, The Netherlands

Annekoos Littel Interieurarchitecten BNI

Young Conaway Stargatt & Taylor, LLP Headquarters
Wilmington, DE

Francis Cauffman

Mid-size Office Winners

Phoenix, AZ


Velti Headquarters
San Francisco, CA


FOX Vakanties
Arnhem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

Buro Bogaarts Interiordesign

DLA Piper
Miami, FL


SYNQA ITOKI Innovation Center
Tokyo, Japan

ITOKI Corporation

IMG College
Atlanta, GA


Oakland, CA

RMW architecture & interiors

Advisory Board Company
Washington D.C.


SmithGroupJJR Office
Washington D.C.


W.L. Gore Associates – Work Strategies Study & Pilot Project
Elkton, MD

Francis Cauffman

Clifford Chance

Space Matrix

International Investment Firm
Shanghai, China

Robarts Interiors & Architecture

Small Office Winners

Masivo Capital
Bogotá, Colombia

HGC Arquitectos

Plentyoffish Media Inc.
Vancouver, Canada

SSDG Interiors Inc.

SCOR Global Life Reinsurance Ireland PLC
Dublin, Ireland

Henry J Lyons Architects

Setter Architects
Ramat Gan, Israel

BAS Ltd.

Retail Winners

Dallas, TX

PGAL & RED Earth Designs

Royal Selangor Visitor Center
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

SWOT Design Group

Red Bull Argentina
San Isidro, Argentina

La Europea

Twenty three distinguished members of the design community evaluated each project based on its design solutions beyond aesthetic quality. The jurors reviewed the challenges, processes and results of each project and how each design team defined design.

The judging panel included:

  • John Cantrell, HOK Atlanta
  • Tara Lenney, Corgan Associates
  • Darlene Shannon, Zurich Farmers Real Estate
  • Anne-Marie Gianoudis, Gresham, Smith and Partners
  • Luis Valcarcel, Ted Moudis Associates
  • Matthew Wasylciw, IA Interior Architects
  • Lynnette Tedder, Perkins+Will
  • Scott McFadden, HKS
  • Ardis Hutchins, University of Wisconsin Hospital & Clinics
  • Lynn Befu, Stantec
  • Florence Reif, Villanova University
  • Ike Lowry, Cannon Design
  • Eric Lind, Gensler
  • David Meyer, Target
  • Shonda McKinney-Short, Macy’s
  • Kelly Gaddes, FRCH Design Worldwide
  • Eduardo Manzano, VOA Associates
  • Matthew Kobylar, Gensler
  • Juan-Manuel Lemus, Lemus Montaño Arquitectos S.A. de C.V.
  • Phillips Connor, DB&B Pte Ltd
  • Carol Jones, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning LTD
  • Marilyn White, Dialog Design
  • Yaxin Chen, Robarts Interiors and Architecture, Ltd.

About Shaw Contract Group
Shaw Contract Group defines design not only by great appearance, but also performance and sustainability. The result is long-lasting carpet with vibrant colors, distinctive patterns, and minimal environmental impact. As a division of Shaw Industries, Shaw Contract Group combines the expertise of the world’s largest carpet manufacturer with the financial stability of a Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary. For more information, visit shawcontractgroup.com.

This entry was posted in Press Center. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *